The Let It Go Challenge

let go

The other day, I called a friend whom I haven’t seen in a few weeks. I was initially hesitant to reconnect due to some tension I had sensed from our prior interactions. But my intuition urged me to call, so I gave in.

Fortunately, by simply catching up with my friend, those feelings disappeared.

Taking some time away can help us let go of negative energy, while other times, all we need to do is gently meet it head-on. Life has a funny way of helping us let go of various things.

In any case, the call got me thinking about the process of letting go, and I created a challenge for myself. But I didn’t want to stop there– I wanted to share it on Phoenix Zen as a way for all of us to learn as a community. And with the holidays coming up, it seemed like a wonderful opportunity to refocus on what’s really important, while letting go of the rest. Hence, the Let It Go Challenge was born.

Intention: Learn how to let go with ease, which will significantly boost your organizing efforts (and your overall life!)

The Challenge: For 21 days straight, let go of (at least) one different thing every day.

The Details: The official challenge will start from November 13th until December 4th, but you can start and end anytime you’d like! You can get creative, because intangible things count too. Here are some examples:

  • Let go of some negative feelings… shame, guilt, anger, sadness, etc.
  • Let go of a bad habit or decision that doesn’t serve your highest good.
  • Let go of the need to be right. The need to please. The need to be serious all the time.
  • And the list goes on…

I created a mini email series specific to this challenge, to hold you accountable and provide some support. When you sign up, you will receive about 3 short emails every week for 3 weeks, with questions to help you through the process of letting go.

Want in? Sign up below: (update 5/18/16: our apologies, but the email challenge is no longer available. You can do it on your own though! Just let go of one thing a day. :))

My intention is for us all to increase our awareness of letting go with intention, gratitude, and closure. You can always repeat the challenge as needed; it’s never a bad time to further develop the skill of letting go with grace.

I’d love to hear from you: What are your experiences around letting go of things? Would you say it’s easy or difficult for you? And lastly, do you feel it’s more or less important than the process of organizing?

10 thoughts on “The Let It Go Challenge

  1. Lehua, I struggle big time letting things go, especially physical things. I used be a big hoarder of all things and a “just in case” kinda girl. Still am really but getting better 🙂 I am in the midst of decluttering my life, not just physically but emotionally too as I am doing a 30 day money cleanse at present which is helping me clear negative thoughts and limiting beliefs around handling money. I believe this is one of the reasons why I hold on to things especially that are expensive and quality, and find it hard to let go of things generally. I believe clutter is do with your mindset as I found recently going through this cleanse I am slowly releasing and letting things go, emotionally and physically, only having things around me of beauty and bring me joy inside.

    • Great insights, Jane! Isn’t it interesting how clearing up our mindset and attitude toward things internally, can lead to huge shifts and clearing externally… in multiple areas– finances, relationships, physical space and belongings, time, etc. When we are ready internally, the pieces fall into place and we can let go more gracefully. Thanks for sharing! Cheering you on in your decluttering efforts. 🙂

  2. I love this challenge. Letting go is one of the most difficult things I face. Letting go of just one thing a day? I’ve got this! Signing up for your challenge.

  3. You’re very welcome Tessa! So true– all things happen for a reason we may not understand until much later. It comes down to trusting that everything will work out in due time. That’s something I’m still working on as well!

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting. 🙂

  4. Pingback: What I've Learned From Letting Go - Phoenix Zen

  5. Pingback: Letting Go and Packing a Lighter Load for Our Life Journey

  6. Pingback: Letting Go and Packing a Lighter Load for Our Life Journey | Phoenix Zen

  7. Pingback: What I've Learned From Letting Go | Phoenix Zen

Join the Discussion!

